GI visit

So, it’s that time to update you again. I scheduled my annual physical and the GI appointment both for this past Monday. Both doctors are very convinced that I do have endometriosis, despite the laparoscopy being negative – they said that the endometrial “implants” are sometimes microscopic and not visible by the naked eye. My primary doctor said that in that region of the body it could only be 1 of 3 things 1-GI problems, 2-GYN problems (endo) or 3-kidney/bladder problems. I do not and have not had any bladder or bowel symptoms, so they are pretty convinced that it is still enodmetriosis. (sad face).

So, the next step is to rule everything that it could possibly be out. I had COMPLETE blood workup done, and just got a call that all of my levels are fine. That means that my lipids, liver, gall bladder, thyroid, etc, etc are all ok and not causing the pain. In two weeks I will have a colonoscopy (another sad face) to rule out any large bowel issues. If that comes back normal, which it probably will, then I will have CT scan to look at my appendix and abdominal organs again. If all of that is normal, then I will be left with what I was originally given – a diagnosis of endometriosis.

I am ok with it. I have since started eating better, taking all of my vitamins, having good water intake and exercising more (I’m training for a 5K). I feel good. I feel really good. Right now the pain is not so bad, about 0-2/10. I think having the piece of mind that it isn’t some tumor, or pre-cancer, and having doctors in my life that are really invested in my healthcare are priceless.

I am also thankful for my wonderful husband that encourages me to keep on the right track and is there for me when I need a shoulder to cry on.

I will follow up in a couple of weeks to give you all another update.

5 thoughts on “GI visit

  1. I’m happy you’re feeling good! I pray that one day the pain will be a distant memory.

    Good luck with the training too. Is Kaman keeping you company on your runs?

  2. Thanks Tiffany. Kaman isn’t my partner yet. I’m running on the treadmill for now. When I get my endurance up he’ll come with me outside.

  3. So glad your at least feeling better. I know what high anxiety about your health is like and that will magnify any problem.
    Your doing all the right things : vitamins, exercise, water, healthy diet, good doctors, supportive husband and great friends 😉
    What more can a girl ask for, pray for peace and patience while this problem gets ironed out.
    Love ya and keep me posted

  4. I am happy your pain has decreased and know your good habits are the reason for this. Hopefully all will be well with the remainder of your test.

    Love you and I’m here whenever you need me!

Leave a comment